A Few Ways to Wear Your Dupatta

Today I thought I would come along and do a quick post about some of the different ways to drape your simple chooni/dupatta/scarf. These are all methods I use quite regularly but do not give an entire representation of the versatility of the chooni.

I always start by folding my chooni to keep it nice and tidy, this also stops it from moving around as much when you are wearing it. Start by taking one of the corners of the chooni and folding one of the short ends back and forth between your thumb and fingers.

This is the simplest and easiest way to wear and manage your dupatta, by simply taking the middle of your chooni across your neck and letting the even lengths hang down over your shoulder blades.
Just as simple, and even more flattering, this is continued on from the previous look – simply pull the chooni down to hang as low, or high as you like!
Another way to wear your folded chooni is by simply letting it hang over one shoulder. It is important to keep the creases intact so that it does not look messy! Wearing a chooni like this, is not for home-wear or the clumsy (like myself). It looks especially flattering with formal suits.This is another relatively easy way to wear your dupatta, and it is especially flattering for the curvacious ladies out there!
Open your chooni and let it hang loose, placing the centre of the chooni on your neck and securing it by draping the edges close to your shoulders.Next is a typically Punjabi way to wear your dupatta, and is just as simple and flattering as the others! Keep the chooni open and hanging over your shoulders as in the previous look and take the hanging ends, tossing them over your shoulders, leaving the centre hanging and position until you get the desired effect!This look is best for casual looks, perhaps if you are wearing a jeans and kurta or even jeans and a western style shirt but will be going to a temple later!
Take the chooni and hold a third of it aside, making a loop around your neck and adjusting until both sides are even. Depend on preference, you could also let one of the ends hang at the back!

This is a good way to wear your dupatta when you are ‘ready for action’. I wear my chooni like this when I am going for a walk, playing games or even riding on the scooter. You can obviously tie the dupatta on either hip or behind your back if it is easier!
Next is a way for wearing your chooni when at Gurudwara or Mandir. We first take a long end of the chooni and let it hang straight down our back, tucking it over our ears to cover our hair and tossing the free end over our shoulder. This helps to keep the chooni secured. The only difference in this look to the previous is that the centre of the chooni is placed on top of your head, with either end tossed over the opposing shoulder!

This method is slightly different to the previous, though with a similar concept – centre of the chooni on top of the head, except in this way I tuck the chooni under my ears to stop it from blowing around, toss one end over a shoulder tightly and drape the other loosely!

So there you have it, a number of different ways to wear and drape your duppatta, when attending events or just staying at home!

Hope you found it useful,
CKW xx

18 comments

  1. Sandeep · · Reply

    Love love love this post!

    1. Glad you liked it! Was just a bit of fun with dear old hubbs taking the photos! :)

  2. [...] the posting about how to drape your dupatta I also thought I should post on another ‘mystery’ of Indian wear – that of [...]

  3. Thank you for this post. I love Indian style and I’m still learning how to wear my dupatta in a traditional Indian way. Your post highlighted all the different styles for me. Thank you so much! : )

    1. You are welcome!! Surprisingly this post gets more hits than any other post!! Glad it is useful for you!

  4. alejandra · · Reply

    awesome!! this post is what i was looking for long time :D
    I just got married with an indian and this is so useful for me :)
    Thanks ♥

    1. You are very welcome! x

  5. but i want to know how to wear dupatta in punjabi style

    1. Not sure how you mean, but these are all trends that I have observed in Punjab. :)

  6. Hi and thanks for your great post. just stumbled across your website. I am a black british woman who has fallen in love with shalwar kameez. I get loads of weird looks and odd comments about it not being ‘black’ enough. the looks come from indian women and the comments from the women in my family (mostly my mum). i tell her we are living in a global village and i will wear whatever I want!

    I am about to relocate to Qatar and after lots of research i think the shalwar kameez will be best for the climate and to keep my long dreadlocks protected from the sun and sandstorms.

    I was really pleased to see your post and that you have adopted this style of dress. I think you look lovely, especially in the sari. (hubby is not bad either!)

    will be following you closely for now on. have not looked through the rest of your site, but any more fashion tips? my big problem is what type of shoes to wear.

    thanks

    Dionne

    1. Hi Dionne,
      Thanks for your comment! A few posts on salwar kameez but I don’t really dabble in fashion much at all!
      Whenever I wear suits out and about I go for sandals or heels, or fancy flip flops.
      Punjabi jutti are too uncomfortable for me but perhaps you could try them to complete the look!!
      I don’t get on here much these days as I am expecting a baby in January but at least try to reply to comments!
      xoxo

  7. Thank you for this, I am often at war with my dupatta . Do you prefer semi patiala or patiala salwar? You look lovely in photos, that is a beautiful salwar kameez .

    1. I wear normal salwar and not full patiala salwar, but the stitching of them will depend on fabric and the suit and how I want it to be.
      Full patiala salwar look great but I don’t find them as comfortable and obviously being bigger you need lots more fabric to make them!
      :)

  8. [...] Traditional scarves of South Asia are known as Dupatta or Chunni, and are worn as a sign of respect and modesty.  While the most common style of wearing a dupatta involves finger pleats and a simple draping of the center of the scarf across the neck with both ends over the shoulders, there are a variety of more involved styles. [...]

  9. After falling head-over-heels in love with salwar kameez due to their insane comfort (DRAWSTRING PANTS!), I really needed this tutorial. Thank you so very much!

    1. You are very welcome!! :)

  10. Indo-Russian · · Reply

    Wow you look so lovely! I’m marrying into a South Indian family and for our engagement will be wearing a pink salwar set and needed some ideas for styling a dupatta, Thank you for your post!

    1. Think I may make another, the longer I am here the more ways I seem to find and contextual understanding I gain!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

